Jan Jelinek | Loop​-Finding​-Jazz​-Records


Much like a scientist in the lab, Jan Jelinek breaks up the molecules of jazz tracks and meticulously rearranges them into new original pieces beyond recognition. This is sampling at its finest.

A1 – Moiré (Piano & Organ)
A2 – Rock In The Video Age
B1 – They, Them
B2 – Them, Their
B3 – Moiré (Guitar & Horns)
C1 – Tendency
C2 – Moiré (Strings)
D1 – Do Dekor
D2 – Drift
D3 – Poren

Only 2 left in stock

SKU: 204 Category: Tag:

Faitiche is delighted to present a long-lost vinyl album: for the last 14 years, Jan Jelinek’s Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records, originally released in 2001 on ~scape, existed only as a download. Now the album is available again on vinyl, as a double LP with two bonus tracks.

What the press said about Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records:

“Don’t be misled by the title, though for there isn’t a finger-snapping rhythm c bebop lead anywhere on the album. Instead, Jelinek chooses to explore the visual effect moiré – two shifting patterns creating an implied third dimension – in the audio realm.” (Alternative Press)

“The title acts as explanation for the studio technique that provided the basis for this album, snippets of other people’s arrangements deconstructed through a sampler into loops and then splashed onto an audio canvas.” (ATM)

“Jelinek has abstracted his sources beyond recognition, looping his millisecond samples into flickering patterns of sonic moiré laid atop a dub Techno framework. (…) Jelinek might as well have sampled a horn player’s hissing intake of breath – it would have been ‘jazz’ enough for his purposes.” (The Wire)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jan Jelinek | Loop​-Finding​-Jazz​-Records”

fits in the mood