Cosmic Neighbourhood | Library Vol 1


Adam Higton’s imagined world features the daily goings-on of the forest folk within the realm of the Cosmic Neighbourhood. Incredibly fun, beguiling and playful.

A1 – Pine Wizard
A2 – Overgrown Garden
A3 – Thought Bubble
A4 – Fortune Teller
A5 – Caterpillar
A6 – Cloud
A7 – Gnomes
A8 – Leaf
B1 – Fall
B2 – Nature Spirit
B3 – Squirrel
B4 – Waving Tree
B5 – Duet
B6 – Ladybugs
B7 – Witches Hat
B8 – Night People

In stock

SKU: 90 Category: Tag:

Adam Higton presents his first collection of library music.

Encompassing comic strips, collage and sound art, York-based illustrator and musician Adam Higton’s work documents the daily goings-on of the forest folk within the realm of the Cosmic Neighbourhood. In classic Higton style, this new 10″ sees songs acting in response to a series of paper-and-scissors compositions.

Sonically, these recordings straddle new and old, taking modular electronics, flutes, bells and softly pattering drum machines, before colouring them all with the amber glow of some forgotten, psychedelic kids’ TV programme. Higton’s benign toots and echoing jingles bring to mind Daphne Oram’s early delay experiments or the meandering playfulness of Tom Cameron. Radiophonic and time-worn, it still somehow sounds like the future.

What friends & press say about Cosmic Neighbourhood:

‘Creamed tweetronica for fans of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop’s sweetest sounds’ – Boomkat

‘Buzzing synth chords billowing like smoke from tape-reel chimneys’ – Half Gifts

‘His knack for digging out strange, semi-familiar film samples and juxtaposing them with the wiggiest of sound collages is not to be underestimated’ – Bleep


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Cosmic Neighbourhood | Library Vol 1”

fits in the mood